Here is a brief write-up about my take on Flex 1.5. Not very exhaustive but highlights few features I like best. More to follow in eventual post along with my development phases. Out of the many "features (Flex 1.5 features)":http://www.macromedia.com/support/documentation/en/flex/1_5/releasenotes.html#whatsnew of Flex 1.5, I particularly liked RSL or the Runtime Shared Library, Remote Object and the History Manager the best.

*RSL* is an SWF which can have shared assets such as images, components, and even other SWF files. This file is extracted from an SWC file before distributing, and is cached locally by the Flash player. So, next time the Flex application is requested, the Flash Player loads the RSL from the local client's cache. The Flash player will try to get a new SWF File only when the RSL descriptor file or its dependencies change. Eventually, RSL allows us to have common external assets sharable across different applications and are more aptly usable for larger Flex Applications.

An RSL can be used after it is being defined or created with the .SWS extension.


   
   	....
   
   
   
   
   ...
   ...
   ...

Then the RSL is accessed from your web directory


or

or a pre-compiled SWC file


*Remote Object* allows __Remoting__ in Flex, thus allowing us to call methods on Java Objects that is on a Java Application Server, __e.g.__ "JRun (JRun)":http://www.macromedia.com/go/jrun/, where Flex is running. @RemoteObject@ thus allows us to access JavaBeans including __Plain Old Java Objects__ which are in the web application classpath. The bottomline is, @@ uses AMF, the encoding used Flash Remoting and as we all know, AMF is way faster and native to the Flash Player than other methods of communication like Web-Services, SOAP.</p>

*History Manager* is another cool feature that have been pending in Flash for eons and when implemented, we still wished that it to be more better. History Manager allows the back and forward browser buttons to go back or forward to its previous/next states and this works beautifully across most modern standard browsers.

*Bookmarks* for "Flex (Flex)":http://www.macromedia.com/go/flex/ on "Macromedia (Macromedia)":http://www.macromedia.com/

* "Flex, Getting Started (Getting started with Flex)":http://www.macromedia.com/go/flex15_gs/
* "Flex Installation (Flex Installation)":http://www.macromedia.com/go/flex15_install/
* "Essentials for Developing Flex Applications (Essentials for Developing Macromedia Flex Applications)":http://www.macromedia.com/support/documentation/en/flex/1_5/essentials.html
* "Flex Documentation (Flex Documentation)":http://www.macromedia.com/go/flex15_documentation/
* "Flex Trial (Flex Trial)":http://www.macromedia.com/software/flex/trial/
* "Flex Doc (Flex Doc)":http://download.macromedia.com/pub/documentation/en/flex/15/documentation.zip (zipped), for "Flash Resouce Manager (Flash Resouce Manager)":http://www.markme.com/mesh/archives/004700.cfm
* "Flex ActionScript & MXML Reference (Flex ActionScript and MXML Reference)":http://www.macromedia.com/go/flex15_reference

*Flex related Blogs*

* "Christophe Coenraets (Christophe Coenraets)":http://www.coenraets.com/
* "Eric Anderson (Eric Anderson)":http://www.markme.com/eanderson/
* "Everything Flex (Everything Flex)":http://www.everythingflex.com/blog/
* "Flex Authority (Flex Authority)":http://www.flexauthority.com/
* "Flex Daddy (Flex Daddy)":http://www.flexdaddy.info/
* "Kevin Hoyt (Kevin Hoyt)":http://www.markme.com/hoyt/
* "Manish Jethani (Manish Jethani)":http://manish.revise.org/
* "Matt Chotin (Matt Chotin)":http://www.markme.com/mchotin/
* "Matt Woodward (Matt Woodward)":http://www.mattwoodward.com/blog/
* "Merhl Interactive (Merhl Interactive)":http://merhl.com/webdevblog/
* "MF Worx (MF Worx)":http://www.mfworx.com/
* "Peter Ent (Peter Ent)":http://www.markme.com/pent/

__Footnotes__

# Remember to visit "Rich Internet Apps (Rich Internet Apps from Iteration::Two)":http://www.richinternetapps.com/ for useful Flex related resources and articles.
# "Flex Builder (Flex Builder)":http://www.macromedia.com/go/flexbuilder/ is an easy to use tool to assist in developing Flex Applications.
# POJO or Plain Old Java Object is a normal Java Object that is not a JavaBean, an EntityBean, a SessionBean, etc., and does not serve any other special role or implement any special interfaces of any of the Java frameworks (EJB, JDBC, DAO, JDO, etc...).</mx:remoteobject>